Federal Funding for Major Disasters since 2017
* More than $139 billion in funding from Congress
* 20 Federal Departments and Agencies received funding

The Recovery Support Function Leadership Group (RSFLG) is made up of multiple departments and agencies across the federal government that work together to help communities recover from a disaster. The RSFLG allows federal agencies to coordinate disaster recovery work under the National Disaster Recovery Framework (NDRF) across six Recovery Support Functions in order to provide communities with unified federal assistance as quickly and effectively as possible. The six Recovery Support Functions are:

  • Community Planning and Capacity Building
  • Economic Recovery
  • Health and Social Services
  • Housing
  • Infrastructure Systems
  • Natural and Cultural Resources

As part of the RSFLG, the Program Management Office (PMO) tracks disaster funding and outcomes across the federal interagency partners for major disasters since 2017, including Hurricanes Harvey, Irma, Maria, Florence and Michael, and the 2017 and 2018 California wildfires. The purpose of the PMO is to provide accountability and transparency, enhance coordination and collaboration, and facilitate outcome driven recovery across the federal government.

This website shows you which federal agencies received disaster funding from Congress and where those agencies spend that funding on recovery activities. Along with tracking disaster funding by agency or state/territory, you will be able to see “funding in action” with stories of how the federal family is using those funds.

A big-picture view of the federal spending landscape